St. Nicholas Altar (Bardejov)

I made a weekend comics pilgrimmage to Bardejov, where the Minor Basilika houses over a dozen medieval altars, a.k.a., gigantic carved and painted religious COMICS!

Don´t worry, the basilika tower isn´t leaning… it just looks that way because I was drawing while perched on the old town wall with my sketchbook on my knee in the cold as the sun went down.  (Excuses, excuses…)

Inside the basilika is a truly amazing space, so high and light and (most importantly for my purposes) CHOCK-A-BLOCK FULL of ANCIENT COMICS. Here is a quick sketch of the sanctuary:

(I realized afterwards that I made a mistake here… the broken-legged thieves are crucified on T-shaped crosses, not true crucifixes.)
It never ceases to amaze me how FANATICAL the medieval church was about telling stories with picture sequences. I spent most of my hours here drawing from the 15th century Nativity altar, visible in the lower left of the above sketch. Images will be forthcoming, but in the meantime I will tempt you with this schematic of the altar to Panna Maria, St. Erasmus, and St. Nicholas:

Yea, verily, some things are better left undrawn.

