Visit with colleague

This is very difficult conversation to treat in comics format, but especially valuable to entire story.  I have put off drawing it for long time, thinking I would come up with some tactful way to present it.  There is no tactful way to present it.  So here it is:

One thing I value in Slovak culture is ability of all people to talk with and really listen to each other on contentious topics.  I feel like in another culture, this conversation might have ended up as shouting match.  In Slovak culture, I always feel comfortable to disagree and compare ideas with other person, and I know they will not kick me out of house or “tell me where to go.”  In fact, if you really get “discussing” something with Slovaks, you are liable to talk for such a long time that coffee and cakes will give way to dinner, and slivovica bottles will come out, and conversation will really get interesting.

NEXT: Imagine we have gypsy in school… >>

